The Best Decisions Are Often The Hardest To Make

“We all make choices, but in the end our choices make us.”
Ken Levine

My choice to leave education before I thought I would was a very hard decision for me to make, for many reasons; I like to see things through and I was afraid. What would I do when my life was open to me? How would I deal with the number of more choices I would have to make.

A few moths after leaving education I can say I made a good decision.

 

The first few weeks were hard, I wont sugar coat it. Lots of panicked tears and sleepless nights of anxiety but with a job and a plan for the recent future I can see a light I haven’t been able to see in quite some time.

 

My job I feel has helped me tremendously, well honestly it’s mostly the people who I work with. Working with actors who are ahead of me by either a few years of ten has made me see that I really do have time. I am young and am just starting. The people I work with are from all over Britain and have been as welcoming as possible.

 

I have never been so sociable!

 

I’ve been to party’s and for drinks (I however do not drink alcohol but have not struggled with this). I feel at ease and connected to these people. They have opened themselves to me and I have grown because of it.

 

I would defiantly say that the job itself has made me more confident. Performing to tourists from all over the place will do that. I have had people comment on my boost in confidence and my more outgoing nature.

 

I still have my anxiety’s and there are parts of me I feel will either never change or I’m happy not to change.

 

I have also learnt that I don’t really think drama school is as amazing as I felt it was built up to be and acting doesn’t have to consume my life.

 

Taking the step to apply for an English a level was also a decision. But just not as hard as many.

 

I’ve not looked forward to the future in the way I am now in many years but now for the first time in a long time I can visualize what I want, what I can be doing for the next few years and that has filled me with enough hope.

 

Thanks for reading

 

Nancy xx

3 thoughts on “The Best Decisions Are Often The Hardest To Make

  1. J E N N I F E R says:

    Hey, Nancy! I hope you find your excitement for the future again soon. Although I understand your sense of dread.

    I’m loving your blog (followed!) but I would also like to invite you to submit a short piece to my own. I think your perspective and style of writing would be a perfect piece for my project.

    It’d also be a great way to get your blog/writing out there.

    Please feel free to email me (jennifer@youngandtwenty) with more questions, or take a look at the ‘BEING Young & Twenty’ page on my blog.

    I hope I’ll hear from you 🙂

    Jennifer

    youngandtwenty.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

