The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

3/5

 

On my search for the perfect traumatising horror book I decided to go for a more classical horror.

 

A trend I have noticed between modern and classical horror, in many mediums, is that classical horror is much more subtle and more psychological.

The Haunting of Hill House has a continuous feeling of unease that although didn’t have me shuddering in fear definitely gave me a sense of unease.

The house it self is a character of it’s own with it’s strangeness and ability to effect the characters mentally and emotionally.

 

The main character at times is vexing in her weakness and relationships with others. The other characters are as human as possible, with faults and agendas.

 

The ending was my favourite part. I re-read it twice. It is built up beautifully and it’s unexpected but in conjunction with the plot.

 

In all it wasn’t outright scary and didn’t keep me up at night but the writing is lovely and the book is definitely creepy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

