A Game of Throne By George RR Martin (Audio Book)

5/5

 

First of all, I am obsessed with Game if Thrones the tv show. All aspects of it from the production value, writing to the amazing actors who I am very jealous of. I have a whole shelf dedicated to Game of Thrones and have the Hand of the King badge on my Filofax (I have been told this is bad luck).

 

Being a major book nerd I HAD to read the books and I tried and failed. This is in no way a statement on the writing but more a statement of my inability to read a book after watching five seasons of the show that’s based on the book.

After a while of being frustrated at myself, I decided to try listening to the books instead, because I love the world of game of thrones and I was determined to absorb everything about it. I subscribed to audible and used my first credit to get the first book.

 

My biggest fear is that I had tried audiobooks before and always felt my mind wondered.

 

Well, Game of Thrones kept me concentrating. As an aspiring writer, it’s insane to believe that George RR Martin could create such a rich and brutal world from nothing.

 

The Narrators change and you find yourself wondering who can you trust each chapter. Who is my villain, who is my hero? But George RR Martin perfectly captures people for the truth that they are. People are not black and white. They do not always do bad or good. They are a mixture of ignorance, selfishness, need to survive and self-preservation. So why should he write his characters any different?

 

I will not lie. This is a BIG book. To read or listen to. You definitely need the stamina and concentration to be able to jump storylines and take in the world so complex that you may forget who’s who.

 

The reader of the audiobook was spectacular. Each character came to like female or male.

 

The end was my favourite part. Well, the last hour or so. It built beautifully into a spectacular ending that had me satisfied and emotional.

 

I do not feel it is appropriate to compare the book and the tv show because they both are worked on with so much passion and pride.

 

My heart still belongs to Daenerys Targaryen even more after listening to the book. All the female characters in Game of Thrones are strong and well written but their situation is not softened to help them. They still go through hell. That’s why I love the ladies of Game of Thrones.

 

Game of Thrones is a Fantasy classic and will be one of my favourite tv show and books for a long time.

 

Thanks for reading

 

Nancy x

 

P.S If commenting try to leave out spoilers for others but feel free to contact me about any Game of Thrones related thing because my obsession is deep and I will talk for hours about it!

11 thoughts on “A Game of Throne By George RR Martin (Audio Book)

  1. Shealea Iral says:

    I have a copy of A Game of Thrones waiting for me on my desk! I’m kind of curious about the audiobook but I think I’ll give the physical book a try beforehand. Nevertheless, I enjoyed reading your review. Daenerys is my number 1 girl as well! ❀️

    Like

  2. Shealea Iral says:

    Oh and I just noticed that we both started blogging last December. That means you’re on your sixth month as well. Congratulations!!! πŸ˜ŠπŸŽ‰ I don’t know. It feels like a huge milestone for me so I got carried away and conducted an international giveaway. Not sure if you’d like to participate but I’m throwing the idea out there. 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

