Starting Therapy Again

 

I have finally been given a new round of therapy! Monday was my first session and although I had mixed feelings about it I am happy to again explore the world of CBT and hopefully, help myself have a better more productive life.

First, I want to explain CBT;

Cognitive Behavioural Therapy is a therapy mainly used for the treatment of anxiety and depression. It is unable to get rid of these conditions but is more about helping to find strategies to deal with them

It is based on five points;

Situation

Thoughts

Emotions

Physical Feelings

Actions

The point is to break the cycle that anxiety and depression cause when it comes to these points.

So change your thoughts to change your emotions and so on.

I have used CBT before and have found it has many Pros and Cons. However I do believe communicating with my new therapist is the key to helping me get the most from my third round and hopefully not needing it at least for some time.

I decided to persist in going for this third round of therapy because I still wasn’t coping and although I am medication I do feel the two will work well together.

My goals for the next ten weeks of so are to increase my motivation for life and the things I love, be able to bring the strong voice in my head into the external and decrease my fear of uncontrollability and social situations.

Feel free to share your stories of therapy and if it was helpful or not. Remember everyone is different and therapy may work for some and not for others.

Thanks for Reading

Nancy x

2 thoughts on “Starting Therapy Again

Leave a Reply

