The Ups and Downs

I’ve figured out something recently. I’m quite good at identifying my own little habits and tendencies which can be a gift and a curse.

What I’ve realised is that my emotions seem to go from one extreme to another. For example, the other night I was suddenly very motivated to completely clean, organise and de-clutter my room until about four am. However, the next day I was completely depressed.

 

This has happened before. It tends to be a depressive episode that follows a really happy or productive few hours and that sucks arse.

 

Now I have it in my head that happiness will be followed by sadness and that’s just going to effect the initial happiness.

 

With my anxiety and depression, it’s really easy for me to be stuck in these negative cycles. This is just another.

 

At the moments I don’t really know what to do about this cycle, I may just need to externalise it and figure it out on paper which sometimes works for me.

 

If anyone of you readers have this situation do you have any tips?

 

A little stuck here

 

Thanks for reading

 

Nancy xx

2 thoughts on “The Ups and Downs

  1. Fiona says:

    I definitely go through that cycle within my depression. I think it’s because I’m an introvert so anything that requires a lot of energy naturally needs down time afterwards to recharge and recover. I normally just acknowledge it any plan in set time after a busy day or event to relax and do something therapeutic, for me it’s yoga or blogging. Hope this helps x

    Like

    • LostinLife says:

      The energy usage definitely makes sense. My energy drains very quickly it’s just a little disheartening and not always useful when you have to work or do certain things 😞

      Like

Leave a Reply

