A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

3/5

My initial thoughts after finishing this book was that this book was slightly overhyped by the book community. I was underwhelmed by the overall plot and characters especially compared to Sarah J Maas’ other works.

The male characters all basically blended together. I kept getting quite confused between the two as they were quite similar.

Feyre was in true Sarah J Maas style a strong female character but in my opinion didn’t feel entirely unique in terms of personality.

The villain didn’t feel like a real threat to me even towards the climax at the end.

The plot was strangely paced, the beginning consisted of a lot of character and world building which is to be expected. The middle was slow and lethargic then the third act was somewhat rushed and set in what I felt a strange time frame. I would have liked to explore the antagonist more.

I am aware there is a sequel and I may read it but it is not my top priority in reading terms.

Thanks for reading

Nancy xx

Leave a Reply

