Does required reading ruin potential readers?

I am a reader. However, required reading for a class has always been like pulling teeth. Although sometimes I will find that I enjoy a book from a class every now and then.

I believe the first book I had to read for school was The Twits by Roald Dahl. Which did turn out to be my favorite Roald Dahl book? It ended well for me but does it discourage others from reading for pleasure?

I wouldn’t spend my free time reading a book I didn’t enjoy if it wasn’t for education purposes.

I understand the need for reading in school and it will be the only introduction some children will have to read.

I suppose it’s a difficult question to answer and it may depend on person to person.

I’ve been thinking about this since returning to college and starting to read Dracula.

It’s not the most thrilling read in my opinion. Hopefully, it will get better.

Thanks for reading

Nancy xx

2 thoughts on “Does required reading ruin potential readers?

  1. Akaluv says:

    I guess required reading could make a person not like to read. However, I would feel sorry for them. To get through life, you have to read and write. In the real world, you have to read documents and write all the time. If you don’t learn to enjoy some aspects of reading, you are going to have a hard time.

    Like

  2. sophiethestark says:

    Required reading can be a bummer if you really can’t get into the books, but I just treat it as a challenge and a way to expand my book comfort zone. Besides, there’s no way around it, it has to be done. So why fuss over it?

    It doesn’t really affect me, personally. But I know of both cases: people who didn’t like to read and who were turned off even further by required reading, and people who started enjoying reading because of it. So it can happen!

    Like

Leave a Reply

