Feminist AF but still learning

“I myself have never been able to find out precisely what feminism is: I only know that people call me a feminist whenever I express sentiments that differentiate me from a doormat.”   Rebecca West,Writer

I am a Feminist. I always thought I was a good female as a teen. I knew about the suffragettes and didn’t conform to the pink insanity that I thought was horrific. Or at least tried to tell myself I didn’t like.

 

During my teen years, it was the “cool” thing to push aside femininity. No one was like the “other girls” and preferred the company of boys. We called girls sluts and whores for doing anything sexual. There were rumours and then there were social media and everything blew up.

 

Feminism is about choice and inclusion.

 

We are like the “other girls”! People can do what they want if their safe and everything’s consensual and PINK ISN’T EVIL! Neither is putting effort into your outfit and not liking jeans. I hate jeans, I much prefer a skirt personally. But for years I said that all I wear is jeans. So, silly young Nancy. Women can make their own choices and that’s a good thing. They don’t have to be life changing but the fact we can make those choices now is great. So why are we still judging people especially women for choices they have fought and allowed to make.

 

We need Feminism.

 

Women are suffering still. Child marriages, illegal abortions, slut-shaming and anti-female laws are still a very real thing going on in the world and feminists are fighting against it.

 

A lot of people cringe away from the word feminist. They prefer to say they just believe in equality. Well, that’s a feminist.

 

I fight for the word feminist. The word has a history written in the blood of mostly women. Past feminism has shrunk the extreme gap between men and women but now it’s the job of present feminists to continue to fight for what they began.

 

The word feminism was created by a man, yet it empowers so many women and we deserve that. Women have been crushed, hurt, killed and stepped on just for being women and although in third wave feminism we can now begin to look at how gender social constructs damage men. However, that wouldn’t be possible without the initial feminist who got us the vote, the right to work, to have contraception, prosecute our rapists and abusers and gave us the ability to make a life without the need for a male.

 

As I have mentioned feminist have begun to fight for men, more than any Meninist has ever with their angry tweets and YouTube comments.

 

“Meninism is a mockery of feminism and proves that we can’t request equality without white men making everything about themselves.” Urban Dictionary

 

 

 

We understand that the war on femininity has affected men a lot. Just like my fake hate for pink, men are told by popular society not to show emotion, leading to huge amounts of male suicide. Men are also pressured to treat women and other men in certain ways, and there is also a problem with the pressure put on men to have a particular body shape.

 

Now, I am not a perfect feminist. After all, I have been taught my whole life by media and even my own family to think a certain way. I still find myself judging women for how many clothes they choose to wear. I have a thing about the weight that is unhealthy for myself and others. I have thoughts that are negative towards women for reasons that are their rightful choices but I am willing to learn.

 

I can identify these problems and I will hopefully reach a point where I will not automatically have thoughts that are sexist.

 

Feminism has helped me become more comfortable with myself and the things I love. I feared being called bossy but now I know I am a leader. I shunned pink and girly things but I still very much love Barbie and have had neon pink hair. I am not ashamed of my body or the things it does. I understand that sexual education is important and shouldn’t just involve UTI horror stories. I’ve learnt that women aren’t perfect we make mistakes but the world punishes us harshly for them. I have learnt about feminist history and the horrific problems that women face all over the world. Females make up a lot of the population. We have created history; we effect society and that is interesting.

 

“We cannot all succeed when half of us are held back.” Malala Yousafzai, activist & 2014 Nobel prize winner

 

 

Feminism has taught me so much about the world and I will continue my education with a smile on my face and hair on my armpits.

 

Thanks for reading

 

Nancy xx

One thought on “Feminist AF but still learning

  1. Emily says:

    I loved reading this and completely agree with you! Feminism isn’t about being butch and scary all the time like some people think. Feminists can enjoy being girly but the point is they don’t *have* to be! Feminism is the fight for choice and, yes, that includes more choice for men in some aspects of life. I don’t really understand people who say they want equality but don’t want to call themselves feminists. And don’t get me started on meninists!
    Great read!

    Emily, http://elgray6.wixsite.com/themindofabadger

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

