Having Older Parents

My parents have always been a little different from many others, well my whole family really.

When my family and I went on holiday a few years ago it was my mum, aunt, second cousin, one of my nephews and myself. Explaining this to a coach full of people is tedious, to say the least.

My mum had me 12 years after her last child so my parents were normally the oldest when it came to parents of my peers. Sometimes my parents would be mixed up as my Grandparents and my eldest sister my Mum. 

Having older parents comes with some cons; my parents didn’t have the energy that younger parents did, my world is so much different to the one they grew up in and my siblings grew up in and I because I am a morbid little shit, I understood that I would probably lose my parents earlier than most.

I can’t say if my relationship would be different with my family if tat 12-year gap didn’t exist, mostly because I’m not magic. However, there is a part of me that wishes that I had been born when my parents were younger and that my siblings felt like siblings.

My mother is quite old fashioned in her opinions of how a house should be run, but in the working class way that women work and be a housewife at the same time which is definitely from her sixties upbringing. My grandparents passed very early for me and I wish I would have had more time with them especially my Nan, Nancy, my namesake.

There are quite a few downfalls to having older parents but there are always some positives; my Mother put a lot of emphasis on manners, which I do believe is a consequence of the time she was born. My parents had already had three children so they’d had plenty of practice plus I’m pretty much a saint compared to them.

I don’t think I will be giving birth anytime soon but I would like to be childfree by my forties if I do decide to reproduce. But, I do love my parents for bringing me into the world just as they were starting to exit the time of having children. No one can say that a newborn baby and three teenagers are ideal.

That’s why my Mum is my hero and my Dad, but he didn’t do the birthing.

 

Thanks for reading,

nancylostinlife-signature

 

One thought on “Having Older Parents

Leave a Reply

